Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

USB printer through ethernet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Debracom

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello everybody
I am new to this forum and hope that some of you may be able to help me. I will be hanging a lot around this forum and try to help out other where I can.
I am a student from Belgium intercommunication systems, and am addicted to security (codelocks, fingerprints, etc..) and do a lot of borland C++ Builder programming.
Though I have a problem. At my house we print a lot. We used to have a laser printer with parrallel connection, and my router had an embedded printserver with also a parrellel connection. Since the printer is broken we bought a new one with USB, parr. isn't available anymore here and I was thinking of switching to USB anyway. But now my computer has to be on the whole day (I connected & shared the printer on my computer).
So now I'm thinking of making something where you can connect a little PCB to the router (10/100base-tx) and gives it through to my USB printer.
But I really don't know where to even start :(. Maybe an alike project has been made already, maybe it's impossible because the drivers of each printer are different, I don't know.
any suggestions and/or solutions?
thank you

appearantely this is way too hard :)