Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

TRIAC Based Light Dimmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

helex

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
112
Hi,

I am designing A simple TRIAC based Light Dimmer to control 9 Different lights, my total load is 110W running on 230 VAC Supply. TRIAC used is BT137 (NXP make). My circuit is working properly but after continuously keeping circuit ON for more than 24 Hrs, TRIAC gets failed and lights starts flickering.

Can any one please tell what will be the reason for that and what will be the SMD equivalent for BT 137
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
21,105
Helped
4,533
Reputation
9,078
Reaction score
4,632
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
139,275
Hi,

A schematic and/or pictures could help...

My first thought: temperature...


Klaus
 
  • Like
Reactions: helex

    helex

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

schmitt trigger

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
2,727
Helped
859
Reputation
1,722
Reaction score
848
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
18,441
If you allow the Triac to cool down, is the failure reversible? Or is the Triac permanently damaged?
 
  • Like
Reactions: helex

    helex

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

helex

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
112
I have attached my actual circuit
 

eiphan

Member level 3
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
59
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Singapore
Activity points
1,579
Yeah I think most likely temperature.
 
  • Like
Reactions: helex

    helex

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

helex

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
112
TRIAC is Permanently damaged.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
21,105
Helped
4,533
Reputation
9,078
Reaction score
4,632
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
139,275
Hi,

what is the load?
I hope there is only resistive load and no transformer or electronic ballast...

try to connect as snubber circuit across the triac.

Hope this helps
Klaus
 
  • Like
Reactions: helex

    helex

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

neddie

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
257
Helped
41
Reputation
82
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,308
Location
South Africa
Activity points
3,040
I don't think L1 and C1 are in the correct place. Put L1 in series with incoming mains and C1 across mains.
Also try and put a small snubber across your triac. Say 100ohm in series with 47n. Make sure the voltage ratings
are correct :0)
Neddie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top