Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Tools to devlop GUI to my project

Status
Not open for further replies.

rkdrkd

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
alfagui documentation

Hi All,

Is there any freeware tools available to develop GUI..
Which should work in multiplatform ennvironment(Windows and Linux....)..

If there is choice between M$S VC++ and VB which will be fast..
I am new to both of these regarding developing GUI...

Thanks

hi,
if u r planning to develop an appilication which can be run both on Windows and Linux/unix then u need to develop the appilication in languages such as Java, so develop the GUI in Java and u will have a multiplatform appilication,
install java sdk.

obviously VC++ is fast, coz vc++ is c++ and the code is compiled to the machine code, where as the VB is interpreted.

by the way u use vc++ or vb if u planning to write an app for windows os and these app will not work on linux/unix.

Hi,

In any case, you would need some knowledge of programming.
As far as developing GUI is concerned, I think the best option would be to go the VB route, as I think it's simple to develop GUI there.

Regards

I think rkdrkd is looking for something like GTK+
https://www.gtk.org/

It probably thrives in a GNU compiler environment.

By the way, there are ways to run Windows apps in Linux (example WINE), and run Linux with X apps under Windows (example coLinux).

Tcl+Tk can run almost anywhere and is maybe the easiest language. The shortcomings are:
1. slow (but, is the speed so important for GUI?)
2. somehow ugly