Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Timer interrupt using ESP32 IDF

Status
Not open for further replies.

balajibaski

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a beginner learning ESP32 using IDF and having a task to use interrupt timer. The task is to generate a signal using GPIO pin. The signal should be on for 20ms and off for 6ms. Here is the code that I've tried. I don't know where I'm going wrong and please guide me if my understanding is wrong.

C:
#include <stdio.h>
#include "esp_timer.h"
#include "freertos/FreeRTOS.h"
#include "freertos/task.h"
#include "esp_log.h"
#include "driver/gpio.h"

void timer_callback(void *param)
{
static bool on;
on = !on;

gpio_set_level(GPIO_NUM_2, on);
}

void app_main(void)
{
gpio_pad_select_gpio(GPIO_NUM_2);
gpio_set_direction(GPIO_NUM_2, GPIO_MODE_OUTPUT);

const esp_timer_create_args_t my_timer_args = {
.callback = &timer_callback,
.name = "a timer"};
esp_timer_handle_t timer_handler;
ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_timer_create(&my_timer_args, &timer_handler));
ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_timer_start_periodic(timer_handler, 20000));
ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_timer_stop_periodic(timer_handler, 6000));

while (true)
{
esp_timer_dump(stdout);
vTaskDelay(pdMS_TO_TICKS(1000));
}
}

Hi,

Please give an error description.
What is happening? Compiler error? GPIO HIGH/LOW/HIGH-Z? Explodes?

How do you test it?
Is the code properly uploaded?

To generate a 20ms/6ms signal I'd use the PWM module. --> most accurate, lowest jitter, consumes no processing power, no interrupt, no ISR being executed,
(Depends on microcontroller)

Klaus

Hi,

Please give an error description.