Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Timer 555 Astable Multivibrator

Status
Not open for further replies.

DasPreetam

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I feel like a total noob in asking this question, but here it goes...

Wherever I read any article about the astable mode of timer 555, there is no clear explanation of the resistor R1 as shown in this figure...

I know that the capacitor charges through R1 and R2 and discharges only through R2. So, is it possible to omit R1 and charge capacitor through only R2 ?

The pin 7 end of R2 must have a positive voltage for the capacitor to be charged. But pin 7 does not produce a positive voltage because it is simply the collector of an NPN transistor that discharges the capacitor through R2 when it turns on and grounds pin 7. R1 provides the positive voltage at the pin 7 end of R2.

If R1 is simply a piece of wire then when pin 7 tries to go to ground the current from pin 7 will be very high and might burn out the 555 IC or burn out the power supply.

The function of R1 is described in many places. I added AN170 to EDABoard awhile back as it is no longer on NXP's site. Here's the link:

As Audioguru described, you need to consider the inner workings of the 555. This snippet illustrates AG's description. Note , R1 is labeled RA.

Capture1.PNG

On that same page of that application note, there is also a modified circuit in which the charge and discharge paths are separated by using diodes. That modification allows duty cycles less than 50%.

John