Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

The comparator function in VHDL

Status
Not open for further replies.

LF_LF

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Good morning,everybody.
I am doing a feedback system in DE2 board.Then,i want to construct a set of VHDL code that enable me to compare the incoming signal with the predefined value so that the difference can be used as improvement value to increase or decrease the input in order to make sure device always run at the speed that i want.

I am new to VHDL and altera DE2 board. Can anyone give me a suggestion or recommend me any reference on doing this?

Thank you in advanced.

Can you elaborate on the design requirements? Is this part of a feedback loop? If so, what are the specs of the ADC? How many bits of data are being compared?

The more info you can provide, the better the recommendations.

8-bit unsigned comparator:

Code:
-- Unsigned 8-bit greater or equal comparator. 
library ieee; 
use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; 
use ieee.std_logic_unsigned.all; 
entity compar is 
     port(A,B : in std_logic_vector(7 downto 0); 
           cmp : out std_logic); 
end compar; 
architecture behavior of compar is 
   begin 
       cmp <= '1' when A >= B 
       else '0'; 
end behavior;

A possible implementation of a comparator.

bigdogguru said:
Can you elaborate on the design requirements? Is this part of a feedback loop? If so, what are the specs of the ADC? How many bits of data are being compared?

The more info you can provide, the better the recommendations.

8-bit unsigned comparator:

Code:
-- Unsigned 8-bit greater or equal comparator. 
library ieee;