Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

the choice of microcontroller for specific purpose

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdpai

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I'm new to the embedded system world and i'm trying right now to get the grip of it.
1) My first question and maybe the simplest for you guys is how to choose a microcontroller knowing that I want to add:

2 USB Ports
2 Ethernet Ports (for router functionalities)
A Graphical LCD Screen
and a small keyboard/keypad.
Embedded linux

to the microcontroller board. What is the most important thing when choosing a microcontroller? is it the function we want to realize or the components we want to add around it.

2) Do the choice of components like USB ports or LCD Screen rely heavily on the choice of the microcontroller?

3) Can we connect directly the components to the microcontroller or do we need some kind of interface/controller between these 2? What are the main purposes of these controllers/interface exactly?

Thanks for all the answers and suggestions

Hello!

One good way to choose a microcontroller is to find a page allowing to choose it
at the constructor site. For instance this one.
Now, what kind of graphics LCD do you want to use? Is it a very small
black & white device (e.g 96 x 64) or an UXVGA? This will very much influence
the choice.

What is the most important thing when choosing a microcontroller? is it the function we want to realize or the components we want to add around it.
The most important thing? I guess nobody can reply to that kind of question.