Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Suggestion on laptops that suitable for linux and EDA tools install.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mpig09

Full Member level 4
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
227
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Taipei
Activity points
2,786
Hi all:

I plan to buy a new laptop to install a Linux OS and EDA tools (IC5141, laker and calibre ...)
But I am not familiar with these, so

Could you give me some information that you have install them in your laptop:

1. which laptop (ex: acer Aspier S7-391-53334G12aws07)
2. which linux os (ex: centos 6.0 64-bit)
3. EDA tools version that install successful.

Thanks for your kindly help

mpig
 

yura717

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 24, 2009
Messages
690
Helped
90
Reputation
178
Reaction score
89
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
4,587
Some Lenovo laptops with doulble video chipsets have BIOS' bug ...
 

rahdirs

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
424
Helped
93
Reputation
192
Reaction score
91
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Mordor
Activity points
4,496
I strongly recommend against an ASUS laptop.My friend recently brought one,couldn't install linux either from bios or wubi. Seems to have some problem & even their customer-care have no clue about the problem.
Dell laptops are good
 

mpig09

Full Member level 4
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
227
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Taipei
Activity points
2,786
Hi rahdirs:

Do you have the model of Dell that is good to install?

mpig
 

rahdirs

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
424
Helped
93
Reputation
192
Reaction score
91
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Mordor
Activity points
4,496
@mpig09: I've been using Dell Inspiron N5010 for the past two years & I also use Fedora OS.
I don't know if that particular model is still available,but in general Dell's customer-care is known to be very good,especially in India.not sure in other places.

This is just my suggestion,but if possible take suggestion from ppl in linux forum(https://www.linuxforums.org/)
 

mpig09

Full Member level 4
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
227
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Taipei
Activity points
2,786
Hi rahdirs:

Thanks for you give me this information.
Do you still install some EDA tools in dell NB?

mpig
 

rahdirs

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
424
Helped
93
Reputation
192
Reaction score
91
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Mordor
Activity points
4,496
I use NI MULTISIM,LT SPICE,ORCAD,Xilinx 13.2,T Spice,Eagle
 
  • Like
Reactions: yura717

    yura717

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

rahdirs

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
424
Helped
93
Reputation
192
Reaction score
91
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Mordor
Activity points
4,496
No LM358 opamp isn't in the list of opamps that you see after installing LT Spice.
But you can find a model of it which you can add it to LT Spice.You can download model of LM 358 & add it to LT Spice from link below;
https://www.onsemi.com/PowerSolutions/supportDoc.do?type=models&rpn=LM358

Or you can run the simulation with an LT1013. It's a dual precision op amp that works with single supply and i think it can be used as a replacement for the LM358.

Here is a sort of "master list" of spice models on the web:
https://homepages.which.net/~paul.hil...odelIndex.html
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: yura717

    yura717

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top