Status
Not open for further replies.

lagos.jl

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all! Maybe this post is a little out of context, but I would really like to enrich from the experience of all of you that have gone through this way before.
I have a BSc degree in EE and two years of experience in analog IC design. I'm planning to apply for a postgraduate program with the aim of obtaining a MsC and then a PhD in the field of high frequency IC design, beginning Fall 2008. I would be grateful if you could help me by giving your advice with regard to the following issues:

1. Since I have no previous experience in RFIC design, I would like to tackle now some implementation in order to enhance my resume prior to applying. Most application deadlines will be due by december 2007. Therfore, I would like to do something simple yet interesting enough to catch a little attention during the application screening process, something developable in an 8-month time frame (note that by simple I don't mean easy: I dig challenges, it's only that I don't have too much time). I am familiar with general RF and telecommunications theory, and I also have experience with EDA tools (Cadence, Tanner, Synopsys) and some knowledge of ADS and MW Office. I think I might also have the possibilty to go to fab, but is not really important to manufacture the design since it would take too long. The question is then:
What would you suggest as an interesting design to implement??(personally I am interested in things like front-ends design, UWB and MMICs in general)