Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

STM32F769 speed problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

doraemon

Super Moderator
Staff member
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys!

I'm rather new to ST microcontrollers. I have built a program using cube MX, and the generated code works.
Basically it's a program that takes the input from 8, 16 or 32 MEMS microphones as explained in ST's document
"Audio Processing With An Open Development System". The CPU is a F769, supposed to run at 216 MHz.
I set it to 196.608 which is a multiple of 48000 (audio).
All the peripherals (DMA, Timer, etc) work as expected. Now I have a problem with execution time.
Although the clock is pretty high (around 196 MHZ), copying a buffer with memcopy is incredibly slow.
I copy 3032 (or 6144) bytes, and it takes 830 µs, but with a clock at 196 MHz, I think I could expect it to happen faster.
Same problem if I copy the bytes in a loop.
So I thought that there might be something I'm missing.
Some background info:
I'm sure the clock works as expected. When dividing it by 64, I get a microphone clock of 3.072 MHz, confirmed
by the scope. So the core seems to run as expected.

Does anybody have some experience with STM 32? (Easyrider83 ??).

I also tried to run the program in run mode (i.e. not debug), but it doesn't change anything.

Thanks for any hint.

Dora.