Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Standard Deviation of Flash ADC with Monte Carlo Analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

musclesinwood

Junior Member level 2
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
20
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
158
Hi

I just need to ask how to find standard deviation of the transition points of a flash ADC using a monte carlo simulation. Say numbero f runs is 100.
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,689
Reputation
5,358
Reaction score
2,291
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,164
When you plot the histogram Cadence_Monte_Carlo_simulation_tutorial_histogram+std.deviation_p26.png , the standard deviation (sd) is calculated automatically.

Here is the dependency of its error on the number of runs: MC_std.deviation_error_p12.png
 

musclesinwood

Junior Member level 2
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
20
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
158
Hi
Thank You very much for the detailed explanation. One more question while plotting the histogram it ask to add the value you want to plot. Which value should I select to figure out the standard deviation. ?
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,689
Reputation
5,358
Reaction score
2,291
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,164
Which value should I select to figure out the standard deviation ?

Not a value, but a parameter, which you already have simulated in a MC analysis. In your problem this is probably the distribution of a (certain) transition point. The parameter should show up in the Histogram menu (item 2., s. upper figure above).
 

musclesinwood

Junior Member level 2
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
20
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
158
Hi
Well in my case its coming like whats attached. What I did is I ran a 100 run MC simulation of a 3-bit flash ADC . After the simulation is complete , I need to figure out the standard deviation of the transition point relative to LSB step size of an ADC.
Now as you said to find out the standard deviation, one need to plot the histogram.
So when I click on the plot option and click histogram. That's what I am getting in the histogram option. Now which parameter should I select here because there are many.

Thank YouScreenshot.png
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,689
Reputation
5,358
Reaction score
2,291
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,164
Now which parameter should I select here because there are many.

How could we know the name of the right parameter better than you?

If you ran the MC runs to simulate a (certain) "transition point relative to LSB step size" you will have given a parameter name to this transition point (a voltage, I guess). Plot the histogram for this parameter.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top