Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Stability Analysis of Opamp

nahid99

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, i am a newbie in Analog IC design. I perform a stability analysis of my Two Stage OTA. As from the textbook the Gain Margin calculated to the -180 phase along with the (0 - Calculated Gain). But in Cadence from the Direct Plot Grom, I get the GM= 7.67dB, when i cross check with the Gain and Phase Plot, the GM calculated in 0dB. Why its calculated in 0 degree rather than -180 degree. Bellow the figure

1709762203500.png

The stability criterion requires that at 0dB loop gain the phase must be still slightly negative (because for negative feedback the phase starts at -180deg).
So it must not cross the 0 deg line for loop gains still above 0db.
When the stability margins are found by simulation, the calculation always takes into account the phase inversion (180 deg) at the summing junction. This method is in full agrrement with the loop gain definition.
However, for some theoretical analyses (calculation by hand) this phase inversion is not automatically taken into acount - that is the reason for the -180deg criterion.

The stability criterion requires that at 0dB loop gain the phase must be still slightly negative (because for negative feedback the phase starts at -180deg).
So it must not cross the 0 deg line for loop gains still above 0db.
When the stability margins are found by simulation, the calculation always takes into account the phase inversion (180 deg) at the summing junction. This method is in full agrrement with the loop gain definition.