Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

SPI and RS232 question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Slayerza

Full Member level 5
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
296
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Africa
Activity points
3,462
spi to rs232

Hi,
Is it possible to use the SPI interface to communicate with a MAX232 to enable another USART on a PIC?
 

sam_manchali

Member level 4
Joined
Jun 14, 2003
Messages
69
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
sharjah
Activity points
735
spi rs232

hi
Can u pls explain what u want to do ??
SPI is a synchronous comm while RS232 is ASync.
Pls tell with a brief circuit diagram desc.
Regards
Sam
 

aNdreiBuuu

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
223
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
moon
Activity points
1,811
spi to rs232 converter

...Yest it is possible if you are using an SPI UART like MAX3100... ;-)
//a
 

puviarasu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 17, 2004
Messages
155
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
1,523
spi rs 232

Ya by software it may be possible to emulate rs232 via SPI port but it may be very tough and it will eat up lot of processor computation power it is better to use a SPI to UART chip with built in charge pump like MAX3111 which takes care of the UART functions (but it is costly) and its performance is good as we have tested it in our design and it supports high baud rate. or u can use the processor I/O pins as serial transmitter and receiver.:idea:
 

banh

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 16, 2004
Messages
458
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,939
spi with rs232

Slayerza said:
Hi,
Is it possible to use the SPI interface to communicate with a MAX232 to enable another USART on a PIC?
i think your question is not so clear. could you explain in more detail?

SPI and RS232 are totally different.
 

Slayerza

Full Member level 5
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
296
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Africa
Activity points
3,462
+interface +pc +spi +max232

OK, just though it might be more effective then bit banging a USART, but if I need onother IC the bit banging part will have to stay. Besides as baud rates are not that high it should possible
 

rangarirai

Newbie level 4
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Activity points
1,359
max3111

your question is not so clear but spi is usually used between integrated pic-pic not pic-rs232 circuits . to set baud rate on spi is quite difficult because the only baud rates in spi are divisions of frequency...maybe 1/4 Osc etc but if you are sending information between two pics then its possible but pic to rs232 using spi is not so possible. i hope that answers your question ...
 

vinay2006

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 14, 2006
Messages
30
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
hyderabad
Activity points
1,523
rs232 + spi

hi,
it is possible. but u r question still it is not clear can u explain clearly
 

Slayerza

Full Member level 5
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
296
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Africa
Activity points
3,462
spi mit rs232

Revised question. What i want to do is install a Bluetooth (BT) module to facilitate communication with a PC. However, i want to debug the BT setup with a PC as I am then able to basically complete the rest of the project, before implementing the BT.

Thus, by using one of those SPI-UART ICs and a RS232 tranciever (MAX232 say) this can be done?
 

puviarasu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 17, 2004
Messages
155
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
1,523
uart bit bang spi

use max3111 does the same you require.!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top