Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Spartan 3 kit jtag problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

lmtg

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am just starting to learn how to load to an fpga. I am using a spartan 3 kit with digilent jtag-parallel cable. Problem is, my latop doesn't have a parallel port. So I got a usb to parallel cable but Xilinx still fails to detect the jtag cable .HELP!! :s

Are you using USB-to-Parallel converter cable or an USB JTAG cable?

USB to parallel converter cable with parallel jtag..

Hi!
I've had the same problem when i started programing my coolrunner2 CPLD that also uses JTAG-parallel cable.
The problem is that the USB-parallel cable is not valid because it is not an actual parallel port, it just multiplexes pins, it is still a serial port, it's like a usb conector - DB25 conector, but it doesn't have the real parallel port cirucuitery. And what's more, i guess your laptop doesn't recognize a parallel port, it keeps seeing it as a USB. There's the problem! This kind of cables are normally used only to connect printers to laptops, but nothing else...
Solutions? Well, you can find real USB-parallel port convertors, they're not just a cable, they have the aditional circuit required, but they are quite expensive. I've even found some webpages where they tell you how to do it yourself!
I'm sure there also exist PCI cards for laptops that have the parallel port...