Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SMPS Design - 2.7kW thru an RM14

Status
Not open for further replies.

FlapJack

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 16, 2010
Messages
400
Helped
102
Reputation
204
Reaction score
100
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
3,822
In a post in this thread.

https://www.edaboard.com/threads/343413/

Easy peasy said.

"We have put 2.7kW thru an RM14 in a commercial design that required long periods at full power (250kHz)."

I would sure like to hear some of the details of how that was done.

What was the input voltage and what was the output voltage and current. What types of winding's were used. And how did you keep the transformer cool.

If anyone else has extraordinary stories like this i would like the same details.
 

treez

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
7,980
Helped
586
Reputation
1,175
Reaction score
566
Trophy points
1,393
Location
cambridge
Activity points
78,631
could have possibly been a high frequency bridge transformer , and soaked in some heat transfer potting material, which was going straight to a finned heatsink, or water cooled heatsink
 

FlapJack

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 16, 2010
Messages
400
Helped
102
Reputation
204
Reaction score
100
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
3,822
I do not see how it could be done. Hopefully Easy peasy will tell us.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,381
Helped
14,245
Reputation
28,751
Reaction score
12,932
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,019
If you use the Epcos Ferrite tool for a first estimation, you get 1.85 kW transmitted power with the therein assumed standard (free convection) cooling. So it seems well possible to achieve the stated power with some kind of forced cooling - if possessing the respective knowledge.
 

Velkarn

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 17, 2014
Messages
154
Helped
82
Reputation
164
Reaction score
85
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,087
yes, it is very interesting! maybe high output voltage (my guess)
 

Easy peasy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
3,041
Helped
1,115
Reputation
2,230
Reaction score
1,153
Trophy points
113
Location
Melbourne
Activity points
16,820
410VDC bus, LLC H bridge, triple ins litz wire, no bobbin, 210kHz min, slight air flow, 56V 50A nominal full power out, 3C96 core, haversine currents in wire., thousands made and in service...
 

mtwieg

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
3,562
Helped
1,262
Reputation
2,530
Reaction score
1,253
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
26,775
no bobbin
Ah, that goes a long way to explaining it. Probably increases your area produce by 25% or so. Any gaps in the windings at all to let airflow through? Or is it potted/varnished to help heat travel from the core through the windings?

What do you estimate the total transformer losses and core temperature at?
 

FlapJack

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 16, 2010
Messages
400
Helped
102
Reputation
204
Reaction score
100
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
3,822
Very cleaver design, with triple insulated litz you have no margins and with no bobbin 20.8mm-18.35mm = 2.45mm extra space to fatten up your wires.

Pressman estimated about 2 KW maximum power out of a RM14 core at 200 khz, with a bobbin. So 2.7 KW around 210 khz is extraordinary
 

Attachments

  • pressman power rm14.JPG
    pressman power rm14.JPG
    195.7 KB · Views: 7

treez

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
7,980
Helped
586
Reputation
1,175
Reaction score
566
Trophy points
1,393
Location
cambridge
Activity points
78,631
I am wondering (I do however appreciate that its none of my business and don't deserve an answer) if there was a gap in the 3C96 core, since as we know LLC's typically have a decent bit of magnetising current flowing...or was there a separate inductor parallel to the RM14 core to act as the main "magnetising inductance".
If the RM14 was not gapped, then were the ferrite surfaces lapped ?
Also, if there was a centre leg gap, presumably it had to be narrower than the litz wire. Also , was the RM14 potted.
 

Easy peasy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
3,041
Helped
1,115
Reputation
2,230
Reaction score
1,153
Trophy points
113
Location
Melbourne
Activity points
16,820
In this design we did not use a gap in the main Tx, external choke in parallel with the HV winding, we did not need other than the std surface finish, dip varnished to keep the wires in place.
Falco in Mexico make very repeatable magnetics without bobbin using TIW litz.
 

mtwieg

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
3,562
Helped
1,262
Reputation
2,530
Reaction score
1,253
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
26,775
Wait, are you saying you did use an external inductor in parallelwith the primary? Never heard of that before in an LLC, and I can't see why it would be necessary...

we did not need other than the std surface finish, dip varnished to keep the wires in place.
Falco in Mexico make very repeatable magnetics without bobbin using TIW litz.

Surely they must have pulled a hell of a vacuum during the varnishing to get all the air out between the litz wire strands. In my experience with litz, it has very poor thermal conductivity due to all the air trapped between windings. Maybe they used some sort of impregnated litz wire, or maybe they're just really good at winding the thing while keeping the bundle super tight..?
 

treez

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
7,980
Helped
586
Reputation
1,175
Reaction score
566
Trophy points
1,393
Location
cambridge
Activity points
78,631
Wait, are you saying you did use an external inductor in parallelwith the primary? Never heard of that before in an LLC, and I can't see why it would be necessary...
Mtwieg, i know you know about this and have just temporarily forgot...I am sure you remember commenting on my post a few weeks back (thanks for your excellent comments too), which concerned an LLC with inductor in parallel to primary, to bring your "m" value down whilst keeping the transformer current relatively low.

Easy Peasy used TIW litz wire, so its "coated" litz wire....don't know what that means toward the dip varnishing.
 

FlapJack

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 16, 2010
Messages
400
Helped
102
Reputation
204
Reaction score
100
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
3,822
Here we go, this helps explain the coil construction.

"Bondable wire is a magnet wire with an additional adhesive enamel overcoat. This adhesive has a bonding feature, which is activated by heat or solvents. Once activated the adhesive bonds the turn to turn windings into a compact self supporting coil."
 

Easy peasy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
3,041
Helped
1,115
Reputation
2,230
Reaction score
1,153
Trophy points
113
Location
Melbourne
Activity points
16,820
Or, tape that has adhesive on both sides is very useful for building self supporting coils on a plain former (no sides) for TIW wire that really maximises the winding space available...! Once the cores are fitted the Tx can be dunked in varnish to stop movement of the wires, vacuum impregnation is a step better to get the varnish into the middle, but if the outside is effectively potted by the varnish - then simple immersion varnishing is OK unless a high vibration environment is to be encountered.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top