Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

small serial port project, and hello from a new member :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

izua

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hey guys!

i've been an amateur electronist for a while (working with a few ics, such as counters, and gates, but not all of them) and for a few days, i'm having this idea of using my programming skills in relation with my *few* electronic skills.
more exactly, i want to make a simple digital clock, controlled by the computer (or perhaps, a numerical display is a more adequate name).

i don't know exactly how should i do it. i believe i'll send a clock pulse from the computer, and 4 bits fed into a cmos 4511 (bcd to 7segment translator) ?
but how do i exactly send those 4 bits? does the serial port implementation allows for 5 bits at once (clock + 4 bits)?

or i should send the clock + another bit (i believe i can send at least two bits, right? :D ), and the circuit will count? like, first 4 bits go to the first 7-segment display, the second 4 (4-8) go to the second display? i believe the way our eyes perceive the flashing light will actually fake me into seeing the 4 digits lit up at all time.

i was also thinking if it's not better to send instead 7 bits. for a total of 4 digits, results 28 hertz per one full iteration of each segment, thus, perhaps a 50 hz "flash" rate will show it up as "permanent lit" (same effect of perceivment). so that's about 1,5khz, will the serial port support it?

thanks everyone - also, if anyone has any idea or suggestion, let me know.
regards,
izua