Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple makeshift UPS using SSR switching

Status
Not open for further replies.

pauldse

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and to electronics generally tbh. I'm hoping to design a SSR-switched circuit to switch quickly between a mains-driven 500W 12v supply (utilising an ATX PSU) and a couple of big 12V deep-cycle batteries in parallel to create a sort of UPS, favouring mains but with the option of running purely off battery when in the field and hopefully being v quiet (for use on a film set). The output will power an array of hard-drives and a laptop, plus a second monitor. Could you tell me if I am on the right track with the accompanying schematic, please, or if I've missed anything - as well as how I might work out the values for the T1 R1,2,3 and C1. Also if I have spec'ed the SSR correctly.

Many thanks for any help!

Paul.

50A psu battery switching SSR simpler.png