Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple LED circuit Grade 6 Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

madfish100

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi. I am doing a grade 6 science project building a simple circuit. I want to build a LED board that spells my name so there will have to be a LOT of LEDs. I’m just starting to learn about circuits and electricity. I was wondering what the best way to arrange it would be, parallel or in series. Also wondering how to calculate exactly what battery I need or if I need to add resisters. Do the LEDs use up current as the current goes through them, and also do they have resistance? If they do that means the voltage drops as current goes across them right? Anyway, I was wondering if you have any design help you could give me. I’m learning about Ohm’s Law and just wondering how to start using it so thank you for any help.

Dear Madfish
Since LEDs are like batteries and nonlinear, unlike resistors, in order to use Ohms Law you must treat the LEDs as a fixed voltage with a series resistance. Then when voltage is applied the current will depend on the voltage difference across the series resistor.

But when putting many in a string such as in letters for your name.
1st count how many LEDs in total you want to use. Say 50, 100, 150.. you decide