Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Select FET for VCR application

Status
Not open for further replies.

Al J

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to the world of FETs and need some help in choosing one. It will be used to make a voltage controlled resister (I hope) in an automotive application.

Range of VCR's resistance desired: 5-70 ohms
Vcc: 12v
Input circuit is thermistor(?) whose operation range is 250-2k ohms. Expect to use Vcc on a voltage divider to provide control voltage to VCR.

For this application I think you need also to specify the maximum current drawn by the FET.

6.6 ohms: 189 mA @ 1.25 V
68 ohms: 96 mA @ 6.3 V

We have a mismatch between the meter in the dash of a project car and the sensor on the block. Looking to see if an VCR is a suitable solution. Meter wants to see 6-68 ohms, sensor range is 45-1k ohms.

Meter operates on 7v mechanically regulated "dc" (couple of hz pulse), so that is they type of signal that would be looking at the VCRs resistance. Annoying, but I don't think it should matter.

This type of application require to use a voltage to current converter.
Something like this:

Attachments

• demo 1.JPG
    demo 1.JPG
    27.7 KB · Views: 57

hummm...
PTC by the thermistor? Positive Temp. Coefficient?
AM1 just an ammeter (to be replaced by load)?
Vertical bar inside the opamp symble... never seen that before.. what does that mean?

:-D
C’mon, forget about small additional details in the attached diagram like NTC/PTC/OA , this schematics was just the starting point, the whole idea remain: use a ‘’voltage to current converter’’.