Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RTL Functional simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

vishwa

Banned
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
rtl simulation with timing

Hi,

I have better knowledge in RTL design in using Verilog/VHDL. Worked in multiple projects.

But I am very new to functional simulation of RTL description. I have few questions on how design a testbench setup.

1. What are the considerations while designing testbench.

2. How to check the internal signals of a design

3. How to check the full functionality of a RTL design, if it has multiple functionalities.

4. What is timing simulation. How come it ispossible to check timing at RTL design level. I think timing can be verifed once the gate netlist is generated.

Please help me in this regard. Please let me know is there any book/tutor to learn about the RTL simulation.

Thanks in advance,

Viswa

Hi,

Here is list of some books that may help you:

Writing Testbenches: Functional Verification of HDL Models, Second Edition by Janick Bergeron

Writing Testbenches using SystemVerilog by Janick Bergeron

You can find second book on internet in pdf, but probably it's going to be copy of book.

Best regards.

Hopefully, these answers will be a starting point for ur questions.

1. What are the considerations while designing testbench.
To ensure that functionality for which the RTL is coded is checked properly and to ensure that all parts of the RTL are checked. This is done by means of writing "functional coverage points" and by ensuring that code coverage is 100%

2. How to check the internal signals of a design