Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Rfid tag antenna help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enrique Romo

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hellow Guys,
I am new to HFSS and I am trying to duplicate the results of an RFID tag antenna working in the 915 MHz. I don't know how to conjugate match the antenna with the chip. Also, I am using a Alien Highs chip (Impedance 27.4-200j ohm) and I don't know how to set it up in the antenna design in HFSS, should I use a lumped port or what??? I need HELP!!!

HFSS is a good simulation tool but not of much use when last few dB's must be found for the real hardware.

Conjugate matching for a single frequency with ideal components is simple: https://home.sandiego.edu/~ekim/e194rfs01/jwmatcher/matcher2.html
This tool is ok for a simulation study but for a real hardware that should be impedance optimized is it a rather useless tool as assumes ideal components and do not care about PCB losses.
It can cost several dB's in increased transmission loss due to misleading calculations.

For better matching result must somewhat wider frequency band matching be done, using measured S-parameters for antenna as well as S-parameters for the real matching components.
If possible should measured/recommended impedance values for same frequency range also be used for the radio.
Making it further a bit more complicated, if antenna environment not is fixed such as due to free space relative handheld, will its impedance change.
Calculate optimized matching network including these different scenarios is automatically done by AnTune software.