Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

RF problem with interference between transmitter & recei

Status
Not open for further replies.

cb30

Member level 2
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
53
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
335
RF problem

I have a 433.92Mhz transmiter .On a other site have a Reciver.It is new but it have very much interfenece. Because? PCB? GROUND or it need a protocol?
Thanks in advance
 

Rayengine

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
287
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Hong Kong
Activity points
1,737
Can you more precise describe your receiver ? Is it super-regenerate, single conversion... ? What is the data rate you are now using .....

Is it meet your target sensitivity?
 

cb30

Member level 2
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
53
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
335
It is a Saw RF Transmiter

6dbm.
square wave modulation = 3khz
modulate on-off
RF carrier with digital signals

It is AUREL component.

The reciver is aprox. the same expecifitations. It is too form AUREL.
I'm using 1200 baudrate.
 

brmadhukar

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
840
Helped
42
Reputation
84
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
6,783
Hi,
If the Tx, Rx are standard off the shelf units, the reason could be power supply and grounding. The PCB/protocol problems will arise only if u have tampered with the units. So give more information about, test setup.
brmadhukar
 

eep2nw

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Messages
54
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
369
I have to agree that poor grounding is highly possible. Sometimes it could be due to poor decoupling..
 

Encrypted

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 28, 2001
Messages
115
Helped
17
Reputation
36
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
705
What are the AUREL part numbers?

How are you connecting them to RS232 signals?
 

Rayengine

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
287
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Hong Kong
Activity points
1,737
If the noise is sound likes a high frequency audio sound, it is most likely came from the microcontroller control the 433MHz transceiver. If the noise is random in nature, either your channel is not correctly tuned or your grounding is poor.
 

g579

Full Member level 6
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
322
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Somewhere
Activity points
2,470
As it is an open freq. band, isn't it possible that another 433.9 MHz transmitter works nearby ?
 

wolf69

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 20, 2002
Messages
105
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
789
what does it mean "a grounded problem"?
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
try this

One trouble shooting approach is to put an ear phone on the demodulator output of the recceiver and see what you hear. Another is to put the transmitter and receiver in the same room and try to communicate. From the first test you can tell if some other signal is on the frequency. From the second test you can tell if it is some protocol problem. An oscilloscope would be useful to trace the signal. Is it what you expect at each point?
 

E-design

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
2,014
Helped
507
Reputation
1,016
Reaction score
407
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
14,195
We had a problem once where harmonics from the uP pcb on the other side of the RF pcb got into the I/P as harmonics from the XTAL osc. This was strong enough to swamp the RX I/P. Putting a HPF directly on the RF in of the chip cured it.
 

jumpjack

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
41
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,577
This ancient thread never had a solution, but I have same problem: I'm using an aurel AC-RX2 module, and I see very high noise on RX pin.
Datasheet says "at least 100.000 pF ceramic capacaitor is needed"; I do not have it, so I used a 0,10 uF polyester cap: is it ok?

What else could interference depend on?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top