Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

RF (GSM/CDMA) POWER DETECTION MODULE

Status
Not open for further replies.

joshicn

Newbie level 4
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
India
Activity points
1,318
RF POWER DETECTION

I want to detect GSM/CDMA recieve power levels as low as -100 dbm. These are power levels recieved @ basestations.

I've seen circuits detecting power levels upto -40 or -50 dbm but below that its bit problematic.

Any suggestions about using particular DIODE or anything else is welcomed.

Thanks in Advance.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,667
Helped
14,078
Reputation
28,413
Reaction score
12,742
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,933
RF POWER DETECTION

Only a calibrated receiver or spectrum analyzer can do.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,667
Helped
14,078
Reputation
28,413
Reaction score
12,742
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,933
Re: RF POWER DETECTION

You can use one of the Analog Devices Log Detectors AD8313 or ADL5513, and place in front of them two or three MMICs from Minicircuits.
It can't work, unless you reduce the bandwidth considerably ( e.g. < 1 MHz). Otherwise the input referred noise power will be already higher than -100 dBm.
 

vfone

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,143
Helped
1,526
Reputation
3,053
Reaction score
1,127
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
32,545
Re: RF POWER DETECTION

Is cheaper to buy a two bucks SAW filter, instead spending many thousands of dollars for a calibrated receiver, or a spectrum analyzer.
 

joshicn

Newbie level 4
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
India
Activity points
1,318
Unfortunately, bandwidth is 75Mhz, centered @ 1842.5 Mhz.

Such detections are common in Tower mount amplifiers. MMICs with inbuilt bypass are already available with Hettite, Avago, Toshiba, Freescale etc. But I've to do this with discreet components.

Is there any other way to bypass amplifier circuit when Rx signal power exceeds prescribed level ?

I'll try using MMICx as Vfone suggested.
 

vfone

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,143
Helped
1,526
Reputation
3,053
Reaction score
1,127
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
32,545
You can use BGA728L7 from Infineon which has high and low gain mode (+15dB and -5dB).

http://www.infineon.com/dgdl/bga728...e187a&fileId=db3a30431ce5fb52011d23be3a3b187b

Beware that is specified for 100MHz to 1.7GHz frequency range but I use it successfully up to 2.1GHz.
The only issue for you could be the package.

Another option is to use a standard MMIC and an RF switch to shunt it for a through state (low gain). Check Infineon for parts. In this case is possible to need two RF switches in series to increase the OFF isolation, otherwise the MMIC could become unstable.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,667
Helped
14,078
Reputation
28,413
Reaction score
12,742
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,933
You can expect a noise level of about -85 to -90 dBm with 75 MHz bandwidth, if this is acceptable, you can use a
wide band detector. Otherwise, it has to be frequency selective.
 

joshicn

Newbie level 4
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
India
Activity points
1,318
1) So what you are proposing is - amplifying the signal and then comparing it with some reference. ? I'll check said LNA, but it'll take some time.

Or shall i first amplify the signal through LNA to be bypassed and check its level and switch on the bypass path if necessary ?

Further, I dont think noise will b a problem as all I need to do is detect signal power level and provide bypass if its above certain level. Noise may be tolerated in this case as application needs simple comparison.

Thanks.
 

joshicn

Newbie level 4
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
India
Activity points
1,318
Hi,

I got a circuit idea for RF Power Detection. Check attached files.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top