Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

REQ: How to xfer data between 2 GPRS phones

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZeRoN

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
104
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
Dear all,

I would like to send/receive data between 2 points
via GPRS network by GPRS phone/modem.
(Siemens ME45 or MOTOROLA g18)

Any ideas?

It must be use TCP/IP (PPP) over GPRS network or not?

Thanks for any advise.
Regards,
ZeRoN
 

meax98

Full Member level 3
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
180
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,793
Yes, it has to be tcp/ip. But it is not possible without help (service) of your GSM provider, I'm not sure that they are offering point to point GPRS. You have to use special service (in my country): leased line (frame relay) on one side (connection to GPRS provider) and your mobile GPRS accounts. I have that and it's working ok.

regards
meax98
 

ZeRoN

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
104
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
I can use Siemens ME45 (use GPRS) to connect to internet from PC. via RS232 cable.

Thats mean, I can use PPP/SLIP on an Embedded System (AT command) connect to internet through it too, I think.

Am I corrected?

but I have no ideato get IP number
after connected.

Any comment?

Thanks
Regards,
ZeRoN
 

ZeRoN

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
104
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
I can use Siemens ME45 (use GPRS) to connect to internet from PC. via RS232 cable.

Thats mean, I can use PPP/SLIP on an Embedded System (AT command) connect to internet through it too, I think.

Am I corrected?

but I have no idea to get IP number
after connected.

Any comment?

Thanks
Regards,
ZeRoN
 

meax98

Full Member level 3
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
180
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,793
Do you want to connect your device or pc to GPRS provider (internet) or you want to connect your two devices together over GPRS (point to point GPRS) ?

meax98
 

padspcb

Member level 4
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Messages
77
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Earth
Activity points
828
Depending on the telco hardware, a phone can with

Default programming:(at telco side)
Originate voice call
Originate Data call
Receive Voice call
Will not recive data call (page fail)

If its programed for data mode:
Originate voice call (cos 3)
Originate Data call (cos 4)
Receive Data call
Will not recive Voice call

Seems then that if you program one phone to be isp
it will not answer voice calls anymore.
This depends how packets are spread on the net.
For voice they are lpcded and so loose data integrity
For data, 2 channels are set, and no loss but no voice...
 

ZeRoN

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
104
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
Dear meax98,
I would like to connect 2 devices together.
(point to point GPRS through service provider)

Regards,
ZeRoN
 

meax98

Full Member level 3
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
180
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,793
Where do you come from?Because, all you need is help of your gsm provider. In my country I'm using service like that: having installed 200 gsm tracking devices/loggers in customers trucks and controlling them online through GPRS.

regards
meax98
 

algilsan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
116
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
chile
Activity points
1,078
you have no problems, simply have to make ppp implementation to connect to your ISP, then you can tx data as packets of data encapsulated on IP, with UDP ot TCP
 

atanur

Newbie level 5
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
24
GPRS PTP

If both mobiles are attached and activated PDP Context, they will be aware of each other. As most operators are assigning dynamic IP addresses, you should always be aware of your other parts IP addr. In most cases you could ask for your operator to assign you static IP (private or public)
Rest is common TCP/IP communication.

Note : Operators could be restricting mobile-to-mobile traffic. You should ask for it, or just test it.
 

sachinlan

Banned
Joined
May 13, 2005
Messages
32
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
0
You can not transfer data between 2 GPRS phones unless it is supported by an operator.

Oly thig you cn transfer via GPRS is MMS and someitmes SMS.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top