Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Regarding microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtailor

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, all. I am new to this microconroller. I am more in to the hardware side. Not much to do with microcontrollers. The only thing I want to know is which one should I start with PIC or Arduino? I am begginer in coding too. What is the easy to learn C++ or ASM? Please any input will be appriciated. I would like to start with blinking LED and see how that go.

if you are beginner then my suggestion is to start with 8051 controller, then go for the PIC and so on
start to write the codes in C language

You can start by PIC16F84A. It's easy and with small package (18-pins).
Also, you can use MikroC compiler, it's free and contains many built in libraries as well as sample projects.

Hope this helps.

Hi,

As you can see from this and many other forums the Pic chips are very well supported, its more a case of what is easier to buy in your area.

Have a look at this Starter thread which will give you some good advice.
Newcomers, please read! (PIC regarded) Upd. 0xD
The only comment I would make is that its section on programmers is a bit out of date - the Microchip Pickit2 or Pickit3 are the ones to buy.

If you start with Assembler it does give you a better understanding of the chips functions though you may move onto C long term.

A good practical assembler tutorial is here- the author is still contactable.
Nigel's PIC Tutorial Page

Also, you can use MikroC compiler, it's free and contains many built in libraries as well as sample projects.

Hope this helps.