Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Reducing heat on heating element

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mattman4494

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Here is my question: currently I have a circuit with a 30 watt heating element and a dimmer switch that plugs into a 110v wall outlet. With no resistance from the dimmer, the heating element can reach around 700 degrees Fahrenheit. I am wanting to limit the max temp of the heating element (with no resistance from the dimmer) to around 450 degrees Fahrenheit by adding resistors. Unfortunately I have very little knowledge on this matter, so I am turning to you all for some help ;-)

Please let me know if I am leaving out any important info, and thanks for any help!!

So 30 W gives 700 F, 0W gives 60 F (room temperature). So for 30 W gives increase of 640 F, you want increase of 390 F, so you need 390/640 X 30 W = 18 W. At 110V, 18 W gives R = 110 X110/18 = 672 ohms. You have 110 X 110 /30 = 403, so you need to add 269 ohms to the circuit.
Frank

Thanks Frank for the info, that is extremely helpful! Would the resistor need to be rated for 18W then? Keith, could you possibly point me site that sells series diodes that would be applicable to my senario?

Matt

If you want to try a a diodes, something like the 1N4007 would be fine. The effect will depend on your "system" as heat loss is not necessarily linearly proportional to temperature difference. Any series resistor could be similarly affected and the value might need adjusting.

Keith