Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question of the Motor and Motor drive selection

Status
Not open for further replies.

bhl777

Full Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All,

I am new to motor and motor drive and want to ask the questions for the procedure to select the components based on the rough application requirements.

This is my example application:
motor_application.png

1. I want to use an electric motor to lift up an object with a 1 kg weight
2. the lift speed can be constant and very slow. Say, 0.1 meter/ second
3. No need to consider the size/noise/weight/cost like the real application

Assuming the mechanical parts (the orange ones in the picture) can be well designed to fit for the application. I assume I can choose a DC motor and an appropriate motor drive to do the job. My questions are:
1. In order to find a potential motor that can be used in this application, what key motor performance spec I should look for?
2. Once the motor is selected, what is the main electrical spec I should look for to find a matched motor drive circuit?
3. If someone can point me to a real product and its drive circuits, it will be perfect.

Thank you!

Hi,

Homework. So it's not useful that we do your job....but for sure we will help you.

What have you done so far?
We don't see your effort.

I at least expect that you
* read about physics, what is mechanical energy, what is power, what is inertia, what is torque.
* read a motor datasheet, what parameter does it show
* go to a motor manufacturer's internet page and use it's motor selection guide. What parameter does it ask for?