Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Query about PLL and Oscillator of PIC18F4550

Status
Not open for further replies.

born4elex

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all
I want to use PIC18F4550 for my project. I want to do serial communication with PIC18F4550.
I am totally new to PIC's. I dont know how to configure PLL and oscillator in PIC18F4550.
Can anybody give me a brief tutorial on PLL and Oscillator of PIC18F4550 ?

You have a lot of options. Before you start to configure your device, you must be able to answer these questions:

Which clock source are you planning to use? External or internal?
What are your speed requirements?
What is the serial communication speed? (I assume it's not USB, which limits the speed options you can choose)

Thanks a lot for such a quick reply,
I want to use 16Mhz clock speed. If it has an internal oscillator then how to enable it and how i can multiply this frequency upto 16MHz with the help of PLL ?

Unfortunately the internal oscillator can't be boosted by the PLL to achieve 16 MHz. Its maximum speed is 8 MHz.

For 16 MHz, you still have more than one options:

Without using PLL, you can use 16, 32, 48 or 64 MHz XTAL directly, by adjusting the oscillator postscaler to 1, 2, 3 or 4 respectively. This done by the configuration bits CPUDIV0 and CPUDIV1 during the programming of the device. Also, "HS Oscillator" option must be chosen by the configuration bits FOSC3:FOSC0.