Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problems with tantalum capacitor after leaving it on board for some time

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

just_one69

I have some bad experience with tantalum capacitor (tp)on board after leaving it for about a year or two:

1. While I'm trying to revive an old pc board, two of the tps exploded. I thought something wrong with the board.

2. I'm trying another board, samething happened.

3. While I'm trying to power up my home build variable power supply unit that I know it previously working nicely, samething happened.

4. Lastly, also on my home build power amp, something happened.

Any view or reference about the behaviour of tantalum capacitor.

Note: the thing happened only on equipment that you leave it for quite long time

Thanks in advance

tantalum capacitor failure modes

tantalum capacitors good for years, you install correctly? they only install one way

tantal cap

All the boards and homebrew projects works nicely before retired for a couple of years.
(Not in use - not power up)

That what wonder me ...

Thanks anyway

tantalum failure mode

I have tested old Soviet Union caps 1969 old!!! It is works perfectly and have less lost event some modern tantal caps.

tantal capacitor

I have expereanced tantulun capacitors going short/leaky after time.Generaly down to the quolity of the capacitors.One tip is that the capacitor can sinter and if you slowly apply the voltage to the circuit and give the capacitor time to self heal somtimes you can breath life in to old caps.
Barrybear.

tantalum capacitor short circuit