Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problems with superpositsion.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sevenfold4

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey i have this problem with superpositsion. I understand it and everything but when you short circuit a certain voltage source it confused me I am pretty new to electronics so i do not really know how the circuit will behave. I hope i can find some quick help here.
Picture of the circuit is here https://imgur.com/vaCLSVs (the voltage source on the left is 40v)

The biggest problem for me is that now that the voltage source on the left has been shorted i have no idea on how to calculate the resistor values since i dont know if i should just calculate them in series and ignore that line or what.
Sorry for the silly question. I am sure the solution is really easy :D

On the extreme right you have a 560+1.5k = 2.060K. then going to the left you add 8.2K, so the resistors in this bit come to 8.2 +2.060 = 10.26K. On the extreme left you have 1K+ 1k = 2K. So you current generator sends most of its current down the 2K path and some down the 10.26K path.
The common thing is the voltage across the resistors are equal, so V/2K + V/10.26K = I = .5A, so multiplying both sides by 2K X 10.26K gives 10.26k X V + 2k X V = .5 X 2K X 10.26k, so 12.26 k X V = 1k X 10.26 k. So V = 1k X 10.26k/12.26k.
Does this get you going?
Frank