Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem with dual-band Sierpinski antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

pancho

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
sierpinski antenna

Dear people of this forum!!

I'm a student of the technical university of Delft and started in november
2000 with my thesis which has as title " Analysis and Design of a new type
of dual-band patch antenna
for mobile communication". As solution was chosen the Sierpinski patch
antenna, which design is researched deeply at the university of Barcelona
(UPC, C. Puente). IE3D and Microwave Office
are used as simultion package for simulation this type of antenna.

But now having gain insight how to match triangular patch antennas (which is
basic form of the Sierpinsi patch antenna) the problem of my thesis is how
to produce two resonance frequencies near to each other such that the two
UMTS bands could be received with one patch antenna configuration. How has
the slot influence two the two bands.

After three months now simulating using the software package IE3D and
MWOffice, I'm happy to say to you that two triangular patch antennas are now
finished using IE3D (very user friendly!!). But still one problem persists:
the third antenna of my thesis has to be of the form of a one-iteration
Sierpinski antenna. The two frequencies at which it must work are: 1.95 GHz
and 2.14 GHz each with a bandwidth of 60 MHz and as substrate I have chosen
TMM4 (epsilon=4.5, loss tangent=0.002, height of substrate 3.2 mm).

After having done a lot of simulations I still can't bring two resonance