Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

problem in string compare in KEIL c for 8051

Status
Not open for further replies.

sachinkp21587

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
india (U.P.)
Activity points
1,703
i am facing problem in string compare. i am always finding it unequal. can anybody please sort out this. i have really tried a lot but cant find the solution.

#include <regx51.h>
#include <string.h>

void init_rs232_tx(void);
void tx_data(unsigned char );
void display_tx(unsigned char[]);
unsigned char rx_data(void);
unsigned char chk_response(unsigned char [3]);
unsigned char n_ip[15] = 0;
unsigned char input_port[4];

void main(void)
{
unsigned char ip_en = 8,i=0,op_en = 1;
init_rs232_tx();
debug:
display_tx("+++*");
if(chk_response("<E>"))
goto debug;

void init_rs232_tx(void)
{
P3 = 0XFF;
TMOD = 0x20;
TH1 = -3;
SCON = 0x50;
TR1 = 1;
}

unsigned char rx_data(void)
{
unsigned char a=0;
while(RI == 0);
a = SBUF;
RI = 0;
return a;
}

unsigned char chk_response(unsigned char response[])
{
unsigned char n_data[3],i=0;
for(i=0;i<3;i++)
{
again:
n_data = rx_data();
if(n_data[0] != response[0])
goto again;
}
if(strcmp(n_data,response) == 0)
return 0;
else
return 1;

}


when i am using following function instead of above thn the string seems to be equal to microcontroller.
unsigned char chk_response(unsigned char response[])
{
unsigned char n_data[3] = "<E>",i=0;
if(strcmp(n_data,response) == 0)
return 0;
else
return 1;

}

i am not getting why is it behaving like this.
thanks in advance
 

alexan_e

Administrator
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
11,895
Helped
2,021
Reputation
4,158
Reaction score
2,031
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Greece
Activity points
64,377
I don't get what you do with this part

Code C - [expand]
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
for(i=0;i<3;i++)
{
again:
n_data[i] = rx_data();  // you assign rx_data() result to n_data[i]
if(n_data[0] != response[0])  // and then you always compare the same variables (n_data[0] instead of n_data[i]), if this is true you will stuck in the goto loop
goto again;
}



Alex
 

bigdogguru

Administrator
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
9,831
Helped
2,348
Reputation
4,690
Reaction score
2,274
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Southwest, USA
Activity points
62,510
In the past couple of decades of coding C, I can count on one hand how many times I've used a GOTO and it wouldn't require all five fingers.

Usually the presence of a GOTO in someone's code indicates a much larger underlying problem.

What is the exact purpose of the routine and string compare?

I believe if you can describe in detail the exact purpose of the code a better solution can be found.
 

sachinkp21587

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
india (U.P.)
Activity points
1,703
actually this is for wiznet ethernet module response check
in the main function in line "if(chk_response("<E>"))" i am checking for a <E> as response
so till the first byte received is '<' i am flushing the received data.
whenever i get that one thn i take the next bytes too so as to compare with the expected response.
As in chk_response() i have passed a string to it named "response"(which holds the expected response from the device),i am comparing response's first byte i.e response[0] with received data n_data[0] till it becomes valid.
and when it becomes valid i just put that data into next string byte place
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,198
Helped
14,202
Reputation
28,663
Reaction score
12,896
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
279,221
I agree with Alex about the strange repeat condition code. But in practice, it will only repeat for i=0 until the first character matches and read in the consecutive characters. So it can work. But n_data[3] is short by one character. It misses room for the string \0 terminator, and code to load it. So strcmp will only work correctly, if n_data has a zero character following it by chance.

As another point, I never saw char nn[] for a formal string pointer argument. But appaerntly, it's accepted by the Keil compiler.

P.S.:
I believe if you can describe in detail the exact purpose of the code a better solution can be found.

Yes, I hope so, too. What I wouldn't do is to perform a rs232 read without knowing, if characters will ever come in.
 

sachinkp21587

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
india (U.P.)
Activity points
1,703
thanks for response BIGDOGGURU.
actually the purpose is to check for a valid response after issuing a command to the WIZ105SR ethernet module.
like i am sending "+++" firstly
the response should be <E> if is implemented successfully.
if the packet received is a valid one but is not as expected i.e. <E> but is something like say <S> thn i have to issue the same command again till it gets implemented successfully.
i want this response check to be a generic function otherwise one bye one byte compare can be done easily. i want to be implemented in this way only i.e by strcmp as it will also help me in some other bigger projects that i am working on right now.
i hope this information helps u ppl to get the point wt i meant to say

---------- Post added at 20:35 ---------- Previous post was at 20:25 ----------

Mr. FVM
i have also tried the way you are telling to insert NULL at last manually.
also as far as i know when we are declaring a string say char n[3] we are allowed to access n[0] n[1] and n[2] since compiler itself inserts null at n[3].
whatever, this didnt helped sir
 
Last edited:

bigdogguru

Administrator
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
9,831
Helped
2,348
Reputation
4,690
Reaction score
2,274
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Southwest, USA
Activity points
62,510
What I wouldn't do is to perform a rs232 read without knowing, if characters will ever come in.

FvM is correct. What you don't want to do is constantly poll for characters hoping one of these days they arrive.

Doing so leaves you at the mercy of the WIZ105SR Ethernet Module and possibly stuck in an endless loop, doing nothing but burning cycles.

This is a good example of when to use an interrupt routine, that MCU can be handling other tasks instead of waiting aimlessly.

What variant of '51 are you using in your design?

---------- Post added at 20:57 ---------- Previous post was at 20:53 ----------

I believe what FvM is pointing out is the n_data[3] should be n_data[4] terminated by a null character for the strcmp() to function properly.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,198
Helped
14,202
Reputation
28,663
Reaction score
12,896
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
279,221
also as far as i know when we are declaring a string say char n[3] we are allowed to access n[0] n[1] and n[2] since compiler itself inserts null at n[3].
Double wrong.
- You must reserve space for the terminator by specuifying n_char[4], otherwise n[3] will be possibly assigned to other variables
- The compiler will insert a null in case of stringcopy or for string constants, but not for single char copy. It neither will initialize local variables, thus assigning n_char[3]=0 is necessary.

There may be other problems with your code, but the said point can cause it's failure.
 

sachinkp21587

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
india (U.P.)
Activity points
1,703
thank u mr FVM. i was mistaken at at some point when i said i have tried making the string to be n[4].
i tried this way n its working now.
n thanks for info of insertion of null when to do forcefully and when not to.
n this is just for testing purpose right now. now i will do the receive part in interrupt only so no time issue thn.
thanks again to all of u :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top