Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem about how to choose the voltage level of output device when designing a moto driver

newbie2023

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,
I'm studying design a moto driver circuit. I feel confused about how to choose the devices.
If the bus voltage = 40V, and the Vbs = 15V. Is the 16V nldmos/pldmos(BV=18V@MIN,25@TYP)enough for my design?
Or I should choose 60V devices which is greater than 40V + 15V ?
Thanks a lot!

It depends on the driver topology. In usual full bridge topology, transistors must be rated for bus voltage plus margin for overvoltage generated at parasitic circuit inductance by current di/dt. 60V rating sounds like a reasonable choice for 40V bus and carefully designed PCB.

It depends on the driver topology. In usual full bridge topology, transistors must be rated for bus voltage plus margin for overvoltage generated at parasitic circuit inductance by current di/dt. 60V rating sounds like a reasonable choice for 40V bus and carefully designed PCB.
Thanks for ur reply. It is a H-bridge topology indeed.
motojpg.jpg

Because the voltage between Drain and Source is VBS. When HO is low, the Max voltage among Drain and Source of high-side driver is VBS. 60 V device cost too much layout area😭 . I'm not sure whether choose 1.5*VBUS or 1.5*VBS.

The question isn't quite clear. Are you asking about gate driver or H-bridge power transistors?

H-bridge has to be rated for Vbus + margin, gate driver for Vbs +.