Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Primetime or DC in writing SDF ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sisari

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 3, 2001
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
122
I noticed important timing modifications in writing the SDF file with DC and with Primetime. Which of them gets the best (and right) timing results good for a simulation? (i am using the 2000.11 DC&PT version and TSMC0.25 libs)
 

philewar

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 17, 2002
Messages
72
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Shanghai
Activity points
489
The engine in PrimeTime produces more accurate result, personal comments.
 

jiang

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
111
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
855
PrimeTime can get more accurate result than DC.
Timing analysis in DC is only for referent.
 

sandusty

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
89
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
910
Most of the companies accepted PrimeTime to be a tapeout tool for timing check. If both DC and PT are available, I pick PT to generate SDF.
 

ttspice

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
64
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Republic of Taiwan
Activity points
555
DC's STA engine called "design-time", it's not good from long time ago.

Synopsys wishes to replace design-time with the engine of PT, they used to announce the 2003.06 release will using PT's engine, but seems not.... It's not fair for customer to pay a lot of money to buy DC with a cropping timing engine.

Some ic design company start adopting the STA tool from Incentia, it's performance is much better than PT. My company also buys the logic synthesis from Incentia, the timing results from synthesis tool is 100% consistent with STA.
 

yusq

Newbie level 5
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
91
of course PT, it is a presto standard in EDA to do STA. we use PT to tapeout several chips.
 

linuxluo

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
331
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,514
hi, ttspice
what's incentia? can u do some explaination in detail?
thanks.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top