Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Possibly simple SystemVerilog question. 'Any multiple of'

Status
Not open for further replies.

BartlebyScrivener

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all, I am very new to digital design and verilog so this might be quite simple....

Is there any way I can write the condition.

x does not equal 'any multiple of' Y

it is the 'any multiple of' I am unsure about. I am making a paramatised 2D mesh of router modules and want to ensure the routers at the edge of the mesh do not look for inputs where there is not one.

Also, I am writing a network-on-chip, it is the first thing I have designed and written and I dont have a teacher, can I just post the whole lot on here once I am done for a critique?

Thankyou1

Essentially what you're asking is if (x modulo y != 0). So yes you can do that. As far as I know however (x % y != 0) is not synthesizable when both x and y are variable. So for simulation no problem, but for synthesis AFAIK you'd need some math library. Hopefully this modulo example is trivial enough that the fpga vendor has some ready to go core you can use. I would expect so, but I'm not sure...

Essentially what you're asking is if (x modulo y != 0). So yes you can do that. As far as I know however (x % y != 0) is not synthesizable when both x and y are variable. So for simulation no problem, but for synthesis AFAIK you'd need some math library. Hopefully this modulo example is trivial enough that the fpga vendor has some ready to go core you can use. I would expect so, but I'm not sure...
]