Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16F877 ADC coding help

Status
Not open for further replies.

harakiri

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
pic adc code

hello

i have a GP2D12 infra red sensors 7 of them by SHARP
i am new with PIC16F877. I don't how to configure my PIC in C.
the sensors has a analog voltage output range of 0.5 ~ 4 i need help on how to read this voltage in any form i can handle it. i am a bit familiar with C programing i just do'nt know how to use the ADC of PIC. any help will be appreciated. thank you

pic16f877a using adc coding

hi,
which c compiler u r going to use?

pic adc in c

if you use the picc compiler you must set the analoge on by write
input_analogs_on or something lik this

pic adc c

Symbolic code:
Assuming you use AN0 and want the 10 bits resolution access as a Word
ADCON0=01000001

ADCON1=10000000
all Analogs on Port A ref analog =VDD
If you need specific values of reference ADVISE here

ADCON0.2 Set to start Conversion
check if reset before reading 10 bits on ADRESH and ADRESL

If you want I'll give you the approximate code in Symbolic langage
As it is difficult to do it in a universal C langage(they all got their little additions of Special registers access for the specific C)

here it is

Word Reading=0
Byte adresl,adresl
byte adcon0,adcon1

SetUP: adcon0=01000001B
adcon1=10000000B

Running:

Loop:
adcon0,2=1
while adcon0,2=1
//wait for conversion to end
wend

Reading=adresh*256+adresl
goto Loop
gebepic.:D

hi-tech c adc

this easy c code for you to read ADC on 16F877:
//---------------read ADC on channel 4-------------
byte ROC()
{
byte oc;