Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Phase Shift Full Bridge converter - Transformer magnetizing inductance

Andrew Lee

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi
I am still studying a PSFB Vin(750V) to Vout(300V~1000V) 15kW(for EV Charger).

The feedback controllers were designed and implemented to fulfill the constant-voltage(CV) and constant-current (CC) output modes for a powerconverter.
And the switching frequency is 70kHz.
I designed the magnetization inductor to a value without an air gap in the transformer.

Despite my researches, there is something I am still unable to understand : how to choose the transformer's magnetizing inductance ?

Is there any relation PSFB's magnetizing inductor with ZVS at light load?

Thank you

Last edited:
Dóh - you work out an acceptable flux ripple in the Tx for core losses and wire fit

this gives you the pri turns ( and the sec )

you can then work out Lpri and the resultant magnetising current - and see if this is large enough for ZVS in a reasonable time at the lower load range

you can then do likewise with a core gap of 0.2mm right thru, etc, to see what you get, at some point the mag current will be ridiculously large.

at some low load you will lose ZVS, even with an extra series L on the pri side, and plenty of Imag,

this is easy to calc.

This is one of the drawbacks of PSFB...that to be done "Properly" the i(mag) needs to be high. And it needs to be accurately defined, because you will use it in i = Cdv/dt to find if you will charge/discharge the FETs' CDS's quick enough to give your ZVS.