Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Own circuit to existing intercom

Status
Not open for further replies.

eslio

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone.

I live in a Condo that has a Mircom K series intercom for 8 apartments. The voice is not working, so I decided to removed that old big phone from the wall an install some custom piece of plastic to open the door and buzz. The problem is that during the process I broke the PCB and threw it on the garbage.

So now, I am trying to develop my own circuit ( I have very little experience with electronics).

My first step: identify how the two pair of cable works.

The first pair has 11V and if I close it, the door opens. The second pair has a very small voltage, that varies a lot. Maybe this is the voice pair that is not working.

When someone pushes a button on the building door, the voltage on the first pair (11V) drops to 0.

I am now able to open the building door using a regular switch (from a chime kit) but I can't figure out how to make the buzzer sound when someone pushes the button downstairs. I bought some relays and buzzers to try something, but it didn't work.

I really appreciate your help.
Thanks.

Probably easier for you to find a replacement board [ebay?] that would work with your wiring and voltage.

Not sure what you want to do with the buzzer; when a visitor pushes THE [only one?] button then ALL apartments get buzzed? But you say relayS and buzzerS, so it sounds like you want a set of switches corresponding to each apartment.

So you do not need the audio - just the buzzer?