Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Optimization of a meandered antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angelika Krasovec

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey folks,

sorry for the question since it may seem to some of you to be very basic. I am an autodidact who is trying to learn about the voodoo of engineering which is antenna design. I am considering this antenna:
1662384933877.png

Whose full description is available on this link:
Which is a meandered antenna printed on a substrate and fed at the center with a coaxial feed.
Now being a beginner, I was trying to tamper with it and optimize it but I found that there are many "directions" to optimize it.
Has anyone any idea what kind of optimizations are possible for this antenna? or has anyone any articles that discuss this matter?
By the way, I have access to simulation software like CST.
Thanks in advance, wish me good luck learning this.

Bruce array is a frequency scanning array antenna, which means the array radiation pattern is changing with scanned frequency. The array should scan the beam vs frequency from backward endfire (min frequency), through broadside (mid frequency), to forward endfire (max frequency).
Theoretically the horizontal and vertical segments should be λ/4 at the center of the frequency range.
If you need only broadside pattern (center frequency) you may optimize the element lengths for maximum broadside gain (usually the horizontal segments first).

bruce.jpg