Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need solution for electromagnets project

Status
Not open for further replies.

prabhubng

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am new to electronics I am trying to do a project but I am unable to find suitable design for it, I am using Arduino board for my prototyping, the project is, I made a matrix of 8x8 small electromagnets which is working with 12v and 250 mA, basically these electromagnets pushes a small neodymium disc magnets on other side.

I tried to drive this using 74HC595+ULN2803 combination for each column and I am able to drive them individually, but my problem is I need to also switch the power direction individually so that the electromagnet pulls the neodymium disc magnets back, now I am not able to decide how I can drive those individually with bidirectional power switch from code.

To get an idea this project similar to flip disc displays where the electromagnets try to push and pull the neodymium magnets so that the disc flips.

It will be really helpful if someone can give me suggestions over this issue and sorry for my bad English.

Thanks in advance,
-Prabhu

Hi Prabhu,

Sounds like an interesting project. It's just off the top of my head, but maybe something like what I've drawn here is what you would be looking for....

IMG-20130222-01176.png

Hi Prabhu,

Sounds like an interesting project. It's just off the top of my head, but maybe something like what I've drawn here is what you would be looking for....

Hi blambrec,

Thank you for your suggestion, I was thinking few other type of options: