Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help finding a buffer!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpeezy

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Im trying to build a device that will deliver 0-5V to a matress air pump to a relay switch. One of my friends recommended that I need a buffer in the circuit but I don't know which one to pick. I'm at a complete loss since it is my first project involving electronics. Please help! I've attached some diagrams my friend drew up IMG_20121027_164840.jpgIMG_20121027_164638.jpg

Hi Jpeazy
Yes your friend is right . you should use a buffer . but not a buffer with op amp . as i understood you want trig a relay . hence a simple transistor would be ok . ( don't forget to use freewheeling diode )
Best Wishes
Goldsmith

Last edited by a moderator:

It's common to find mattress air pumps that run on 120VAC, or on 12VDC. Do you plan to run one of those on 5VDC? That will not be easy. You'll need a power converter of some kind.

Or do you have a pump that runs on 5VDC? And what is your power supply?

Your initial schematics show an op amp and motor. The rest is unclear.

It is likely you'll need to install a relay to turn on the motor. And (in agreement with Goldsmith) a transistor is sufficient to turn on the relay. A 50 cent op amp can turn on the transistor.

Is the op amp the center of your control circuit? Is it supposed to shut off the pump when the mattress reaches a certain pressure? Do you plan to sense air pressure directly? Or sense when the vinyl reaches a certain tension? Or sense when the pump starts drawing more amps?