Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need for help for a differential amplifier analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

ethan

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody,

I am a student and right now want to duplicate a OPAMP design from a IEEE journal for a project. The schematic is attached in this post.

Since I have no so much experience, I need your help to interprete this design. First I want to briefly introduce this amplifier before I go into it.

They used this opamp to sense substrate noise with one input connecting the substrate through big MOS cap and another input connecting the quiet ground. The previous design (from another group) used 0.5 micron technology with 3.0 v supply, consuming 100mw. The current IEEE paper design used 0.35 micron technology. These two schematics were indentical. I have made some comments based on my understood and list as following. Please feel free to comment them and give me some advise. I am also use 0.35 micron and 3.3v power supply.

1. Those two groups demonstrated it is wideband amplifier and have bandwidth from 100KHz to 1GHz. The reason why it is wideband, I think this is current mode amplifier, since its input impedance is low (1/gm5 or 1/gm7) and also its ouput impedance is also low (1/gm10=50ohms, or 1/gm11). But, if it is current mode amplifier, it should sense current input, but apparently that big MOS cap sense substrate noise voltage, no noise current, Why? Maybe I am wrong.

2.Biasing part: