Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[Moved] Strange oscilloscope screen problem...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricka90

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I've bought an used Hameg HM304 oscilloscope. I'm a beginner so that's my first one.
I found that the oscilloscope screen has a strange problem when I use "X-MAG X10" function to zoom the waveform a lot.
In the video below you can see how the wave deforms in different ways.
The more I increment TIME/DIV value the more the wave deforms. But if X-MAG X10 is not active the wave show perfectly (but it's too little to be measured accurately, of course).
In this video I'm measuring a 12MHz wave from a PIC external crystal oscillator and moving it around horizontally. The probe is set to 10X.
Can I do something to fix this problem?
Do you think is an hardware issue or it can be solved just with some calibration?

Here's the video: SAM 0060

I do not know what wafeform a pic crystal oscillator is but your scope is 35MHz. If the oscillator is a squarewave you need 5 to 10 times 14 MHz to show it correct. So you need a 100-150 MHz scope for that. Your scope will transform a square into something that looks like a sinewave.

But the strange trace with the increased risetime for the first part of the trace in your video I have never seen before. I would look for the 10X part in the timebase (but I think this scope has a microprocessor and is some kind of hybrid)

I'm sorry, I didn't mean a Pic oscillator. I just wanted to say I was using the crystal for the clock of a Pic. That's a normal 12MHz cristal oscillator.