Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Mosfets to work in saturation region, but they're in Triode Region

aishakhan

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I'm new here and also I'm new to Analog IC Design, actually I'm implementing an IA design which was in 350nm technology node, and I'm implementing it in 180nm. I'm having this issue that the MOSFETS need to operate in sat region, but they're operating in triode region. Could anyone tell me what to do so that my mosfets all work in the saturation region? Here's an attached image of the design: M11, M12, M13, and M14 all are in triode region, and I need it to be operating in saturation region. Any help would be really appreciated. Regards.
1702887867930.png

(1) Not -all- transistors under all conditions can be in saturation.
Pick your battles.

(2) Fold your cascodes, if they aren't already

(3) Go to a rail-rail input design, as you're not going to want to
throw away half of your common mode input range.

(4) Basic: keep L for Rout, use low-VT devices if available (not
zero-VT). Then same W ought to give you about 2X ID for Vgs
on same-ish-VT and you'd be further toward saturation from
the start. Unless your bias is whack.

Quotation feature of the forum does not work for the the moment. Anyway.
W/L ratio does not identify directly the operating region because since the conditions above are satisfied, the transistor enters into saturation mode independently of W/L ratio.
Here the trick is to choose the right current and the right bias ( Vgs) for MOS transistors.