Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Monopole antenna design using HFSS

Status
Not open for further replies.

bijus

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear all,

I am a beginner in this field HFSS. I would like to design a monopole antenna in HFSS. I have completed the preliminary stage up to my knowledge and i have some doubts about the measurements and report generation.

I tried the design of monopole using both lump port and wave port. Pls suggest which is good. Attached both simulation files and test results.

The VSWR is ok and provided the details of the test report I have with me.
In HFSS, i had added the far-field option for generating reports.

The elevation pattern is seems good. Now i want to know how we will measure the H Plane pattern (Omni Directional) / how we will generate the report of H Plane Pattern.
Pls help me to measure/see the H plane Pattern and also the exact absolute gain figure. Also pls advise the steps to be followed to measure the same.

Your valuable suggestions requested....

Pls Help.....

T&R

Attachments

• Monopole.zip
    197.9 KB · Views: 296

In "Results" --> "Create Far Fields Report" --> "Radiation Pattern" you have do change the "Primary Sweep" from Theta (V) to Phi (H).

Dear tes87,

Thanks for your valuable suggestion. Now i want to know the gain of my antenna. for measuring gain which angle to be measured (eg: theta 90degree, Theta 180 degree....) in the result Theta 310 degree shows maximum value(1.8 dB) pls correct me, if i am wrong .... i am attaching the results with me ...pls help

T&R

Attachments

• Hplane Pattern -1.jpg