Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Modeling a differential microstrip transmission line

Status
Not open for further replies.

rruss

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
differential microstrip

Please forgive my ignorance, I'm very new to HFSS, and electromagnetics is not my specialty. I need to model a differential transmission line on an FR4 substrate. I've spent a lot of time reviewing tutorials and examples, but none seem to address the subtle inconsistencies I see in HFSS with respect to waveport/lumped port definition and how they relate to the solution type, etc.

When I build my model such that the driven ends of the t-line are on the boundary of the model (so that I can use a waveport), the resulting s-parameters show an open circuit from end to end.

When I encase my model in "air" and set my radiation boundaries all around the model, I can stimulate a single ended transmission line with lumped ports and see realistic results in S11, and S12 using driven modal solution type. In this case the ports are set into the model by a mm or so.

This may be a silly observation... but I can't define multi-terminal ports with more than one integration line on lumped ports at all, and I can only create them on waveports in a driven terminal solution type (not driven modal).

I'm really quite confused as to which solution type I should be using, and how to get an accurate model using waveports with 2 terminals.

If anyone has a simple model that might help me, I'd appreciate seeing a working example.

Thanks.
-Russ

grounded differential microstrip