Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Micro-Coaxial Cable Effect in Antenna Design?

Status
Not open for further replies.

niholan

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All,

I am currently studying compact antenna designs for small hand-held devices.

One of my initial thoughts was to grow my antenna pattern onto a piece of FR4 board and fed it with a piece of 50ohm micro-coaxial cable, which was then connected to the U.FL connector soldered on the main board of the terminal.

In this configuration, the antenna is connected to the device only through the coaxial cable.

After some quick experiments, I found something quite puzzled.
If I made a PCB antenna in any form and connect it to the system ground with a piece of coaxial cable, the return loss changes hugely while the cable is routed in different way or position. It even creates some unexpected deep responses on S11 which are not supposed to be there.

It gives me an strong impression that this piece of coax is becoming part of my antenna pattern now (w.r.t. the ground plane of the device).

Based on this, I have a few questions and hope you can help me clarify some of them. Many thanks in advance for your help!

1. Is this what you are supposed to see if you do not stick your antenna onto the system ground plane but connect them with a coaxial cable instead?