Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Made a preamp but have issue with noise

Status
Not open for further replies.

inklen

Full Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I made this pleamp - https://www.ti.com/lit/ug/tidu765/tidu765.pdf - and it kind of works. But I made it with another mic model - https://mouser.com/datasheet/2/670/cmc-6027-24t-1777130.pdf. The difference is sensitivity - the original design mic has -42 dB and the one I used -26 dB. Everything else seems to be the same.

Now, since I just wanted to make it work as a prototype (I'm still learning, slowly), the mic on my pcb is soldered with a pair of wires ~25 cm / 10" long. And when I connect 9V battery I start hearing only some kind of noise. But when I hold the mic capsule with my fingers I hear everything clearly. Once I leave it everything stops working again. The sound level is the same.

I honestly want to know the reason for this. So thank you in advance.

Alex

As you can see from the second page of the datasheet, the mic's case is a shield. The electret itself is very high impedance and will pick up any stray noise. And even though it is buffered by a JFET, its output will still pick up noise with such long leads that you got..
As you can see in TI's app note, the microphone is soldered directly to the board.

Thank you! Let me try that.

BTW, does it mean that if I want to leave the wire long I should use some kind of shielded pair? Will it work? ... I need to read something about it.