Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Loop Antenna Interference

Status
Not open for further replies.

lixnig

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, Everyone.

I'm not an antenna engineer in any sense, so I was hoping I could gain some knowledge from the experts here.

I work for a company that manufacturers and supplies LCDs. We are currently providing a small display which they are now considering placing a small loop antenna in very close proximity to (i.e. between panel and backlight). The antenna is a receiver-only for an RFID tag application operating around 13.5 MHz. They have asked whether we can foresee any problems with this, and at first my initial reaction was that there shouldn't be since LCDS especially of this size are not really huge sources of radiation, but I don't really have a way to quantify that reaction at the moment.

Could someone with some experience with these types of antennas share some thoughts with me regarding the susceptibility of these antennas to interference or anything in particular that I should keep in mind going forward on this?

Thanks.

I have been involved in similar designs with antennas 800 MHz and upward. It is a lot of things to think about that can cause problems but a not unlikely problem is if RFID antenna RF power causes modulation of the display. It can be seen as reduced contrast during transmitting phase. Do not harm display but can be a bit disturbing.