Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for help, confused about terminology of Power Inductors.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Z

Zaprooder

[SOLVED] Looking for help, confused about terminology of Power Inductors.

Hi All

This is my first post and a cry for help. I'm relatively new to the electronics scene and although I have made some quite complex circuits I have not yet touched inductors. The circuit I want to make will be a switching power supply for high current loads in the region of 0.2 to 4.0 ohms. The power supply will be variable (using PWM duty cycle) and will usually be in the region of about 3.5 to 4.5 volts although it is possible for the voltage to be as high as 10 (but not with a load of 0.2 ohms obviously). The PWM will be from a 12V(ish) source (typically a 3S LiPo pack). In order to smooth the outputted PWM (100KHz) generated by a micro controller (switching mosfets), It seems that using the diode/inductor/capacitor approach would probably work.
**broken link removed**
Size is a very important factor, the finished product has to be as small as possible, so I searched for SMD components. I found that inductors that can handle this kind of current and be a reasonable high inductance (100-300uH) as suggested by many circuit diagram examples I saw are non existent. The highest inductance I could find with a decent current capcity was this one.
http://uk.farnell.com/coilcraft/ser2915l-333kl/inductor-pwr-33uh-30a-0-1-7mhz/dp/2288911
And after doing some simulations in Proteus it seems it could work. I get ripple of about +-0.2 volts, but that's manageable.